You are here

FFA Closing Banquet

Submitted by tyler.lewis on Tue, 05/22/2012 - 10:20
Story and photos by Kaylee Liddiard.
2012-2013 FFA Officers.

The Maple Mountain FFA held their 2011-2012 closing banquet on May 9. It was a night packed with thanks, awards, and motivational speeches by our own FFA members. It was also where the 2012-2013 Officer team was announced. 

Our chapter cannot run without the help of others. This year we recognized three Distinguished Service awards. Brian Boden helped us out by serving as the auctioneer at Sweethearts. J Merrill Hallam helped to make the greenhouse and animal lab a success. Prior Dairy helped by allowing us to host part of Sweethearts competitions at their dairy. 

Each year our chapter chooses four members who they feel have risen to the top. This year we awarded: RJ Giles, freshman; Shadoe Holm, sophomore; Patricia Freeborn, junior; and Austin Brittain, senior. These students have worked hard all year to help our chapter move forward and succeed. Our chapter also wants to recognize students who have excelled academically. They awarded the following with an academic achievement award: Stetson West, senior; Ciara Moosman, junior; Sidney Whiting, sophomore; and Monique Ostler, freshman. 

Students were also awarded their Chapter or Greenhand degree for their hard work and dedication to their SAE. We also recognized the parents of officers and members that have helped them reach success. The 2011-2012 officer team said goodbye and the seniors offered inspirational messages to the future generations.  

The 2012-2013 officer team was then installed. We are looking forward to a successful year with these students in charge!

President: Taylor Johnson
Vice President: Malinda Olsen
Secretary:  Decker Nielson
Treasurer: RJ Giles
Sentinel: Lane Sorenson
Chapter Chairman: Ciara Moosman
Community Chairman: Shadoe Holm
Student Chairman: Ashlynn Johnson