School Community Council

School Community Council Elections for 2018-2019:
If you have a student at Maple Mountain High School for the next 2-year term, and you are interested in serving on the School Community Council, please email both deann.nielsen@nebo.edu (principal) and joy.maughan@nebo.edu (secretary) by August 20, 2018.

Your name will be added to the MMHS SCC Ballot.  Elections will be conducted as directed in Nebo School District Board policy KC and will follow the Utah Code Ann., section 53A-1a-108.

Elections for the 2018-2019 School Community Council will be held at Maple Mountain High School.  Patrons may vote in the front office August 23, 24, 27 and 28 between 7:30 a.m. and 3:00 p.m.  If there is not a contested race, the school will not need to hold elections.  High schools will have at least 6 parent/guardian members that are expected to serve a 2-year term.

Purpose and Function of the School Community Council:
 A School Community Council is created for the purpose of: (a) involving parents or guardians of students in decision making at the school level; (b) improving the education of students; (c) prudently expending School LAND Trust Program money for the improvement of students' education through collaboration among parents and guardians, school employees, and the Board of Education; and (d) increasing public awareness of: (i) school trust lands and related land policies; (ii) management of the State School Fund established in Utah Constitution, Article X, Section V; and (iii) educational excellence. In this regard, the responsibilities of the School Community Council are advisory in nature. The authority of the Council does not supersede the authority of the principal, the superintendent, or the Board of Education.

 SCC Rules of Order and Procedure:
 Each Council must adopt rules of order and procedure to govern its meetings. Each meeting must be conducted in accordance with the rules, and the rules must be made available at each meeting and on the school’s website. The rules must govern the following:

School LAND Trust Funds:
Members of the School Community Council (parents, teachers, and the principal, in collaboration with an approving entity) shall use School LAND Trust Program funds in data-driven and evidence-based ways to improve educational outcomes, including:

  • strategies that are measureable and show academic outcomes with multi-tiered systems of support; and
  • counselors and educators working with students and families on academic and behavioral issues when a direct impact on academic achievement can be measured.

School LAND Trust Program expenditures are required to have a direct impact on the instruction of students in the particular school’s areas of most critical academic need. A school may not use School LAND Trust Program funds for the following:

  • To cover the fixed costs of doing business;
  • For construction, maintenance, facilities, overhead, security, or athletics; or
  • To pay for non-academic in-school, co-curricular, or extracurricular activities.

A school district or local school board may not require a council or school to spend the school’s School LAND Trust Program funds on a specific use or set of uses.

A council may budget and spend no more than $7,000 for in-school civic and character education, including student leadership skills training and digital citizenship training as described in Section 53G-7-1202.

  • A school may designate School LAND Trust Program funds for an in-school civic or character education program or activity only if the plan clearly describes how the program or activity has a direct impact of the instruction of students in school’s areas of most critical academic need.
  • A school may use a portion of the school’s School LAND Trust Program funds to provide digital citizenship training as described in Section 53G-7-1204.

Notwithstanding other provisions in this rule, a school may use funds as needed to implement a student’s Individualized Education Plan. Student incentives implemented as part of an academic goal in the School LAND Trust Program may not exceed $2 per awarded student in an academic school year.

School LAND Trust Expenditures:
2014-2015
2015-2016
2016-2017

2017-2018

Trustlands Report 2017-18

MMHS School Community Council Members, 2018-2019:
Parent or Guardian Members

Heidi Messenger, Chair       jmesse1787@gmail.com
Jacoy Baird                          coyandjon@yahoo.com
Jenny Beal                           jenny_beal@yahoo.com
Denise Brown                     denisebrown411@gmail.com
Laurie Dallon                      laurie.dallon@gmail.com
Emily Gunderson                emily@gundy.org
Christy Nemelka                 christynemelka@gmail.com
Shauna Warnick                  shaunawarnick@gmail.com

School Employee Members
DeAnn Nielsen, principal           deann.nielsen@nebo.edu
Jessica Knotts, Vice Chair          jessica.knotts@nebo.edu
Kyra Benson                              kyra.benson@nebo.edu
Dave Jones                                dave.jones@nebo.edu
Rachelle Miner                           rachelle.miner@nebo.edu
Jared Massic                              jared.massic@nebo.edu

Non Voting Members
Shea Bradshaw, administrator    shea.bradshaw@nebo.edu
Jeffrey Nelson, administrator     jeffrey.nelson@nebo.edu
Melony Mortensen, secretary     melony.mortensen@nebo.edu
Holly Henderson, facilitator       holly.tippetts@nebo.edu 

2017-2018 Mtg Dates               2018-2019 Mtg Dates

September 26                                                                       September 25, 3:00 p.m., Conf. Rm.
October 17                                                                           October 16, 3:00 p.m., Conf. Rm.
November 21                                                                        November 22, 3:00 p.m., Conf. Rm.
December - TBA (Cancelled)                                                 December - TBA
January 16                                                                            January 22, 3:00 p.m., Conf. Rm.
February 20                                                                          February 19, 3:00 p.m., Conf. Rm.
March 20                                                                              March 19, 3:00 p.m., Conf. Rm.
April 17                                                                                April 16, 3:00 p.m., Conf. Rm.
May - TBA (Cancelled)                                                           May - TBA
2017-2018 Minutes                   2018-2019 Minutes
Minutes, Sept 2017                                              Minutes, Sept 2018
Minutes, Oct 2017                                               Minutes, Oct 2018
Minutes, Nov 2017
No Mtg in Dec 2017
Minutes, Jan 2018
Minutes, Feb 2018
Minutes, Mar 2018
Minutes, Apr 2018
No Mtg in May 2018
2017-2018 Agendas
                          2018-2019 Agendas
Agenda, Sept 2017                                             Agenda, Sept 2018
Agenda, Oct 2017                                              Agenda, Oct 2018
Agenda, Nov 2017                                             Agenda, Nov 2018
No Mtg in Dec 2017
Agenda, Jan 2018
Agenda, Feb 2018
Agenda, Mar 2018
Agenda, Apr 2018
No Mtg in May 2018